Connect with us

WATCH: In Doubles Tennis, Sometimes You Should NOT Lob

League Tennis

WATCH: In Doubles Tennis, Sometimes You Should NOT Lob

So many recreational players opt to lob every time their opponents come in to net. Don’t get me wrong, this is a good strategy–unless you’re lobbing from mid-court.

When you have to move in to get a short ball and your opponents are already at the net… DO NOT LOB. Though it is tempting, the reward is not worth the risk!

Hitting a lob from mid-court only gives you half a court to hit into, making this a very low percentage shot. And, if you don’t hit a perfect lob, you risk either hitting the ball out or getting nailed by your opponents at net.

When moving forward, DON’T think lob… think offensively! Hitting the ball hard, low and up the middle will put you and your partner in the driver’s seat!


As always, my goal is to give all of you the tips and tools you need to be the best tennis players you can be. If you have any questions about rules, or situations that happened to you, please tell me about it in the comments section below and I’ll address it in a future video! Also, be sure and share my posts with your tennis friends, and connect with me on social media – the links are in my bio at the top of the post!

I'm a former top 50 world-ranked tennis pro, whose most notable opponents include Martina Navratilova, Tracy Austin, Pam Shriver, Gigi Fernandez and Andrea Jaeger. Currently, I own and run Jane Forman Sports in Miami, Fla., developing community tennis and sports programs for children and adults of all ages and levels of ability.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

More in League Tennis

To Top